Posted by: bellissimanh | January 5, 2013

Abide.

New beginnings. A fresh start. I flip the calendar to a new year and feel my lungs fill with air. Breathe deeply. Relax. View the canvass of my life and imagine it being filled –sweeping brush strokes, vibrant with color.

Image

 

Of course there will be some gray thrown in. Life is like that… but it’s ok, because I intend to be prepared. I can’t know what the coming year holds – but I do know who holds it in His hands, and that He will be faithful to be present as I walk through.

 

All of His power is available to me. He’s promised that, and He is GOOD for it. So why is it there have been times when I didn’t feel His strength and comfort in my life as powerfully as I should have? It wasn’t His fault, but mine.

 

This year? This year will be different. I will fix my eyes on Him, and his faithfulness, and TRUTH – and I will know His nearness. It’s not enough to wish for this… to pray for it. If I truly want to experience Him in the fullest way this year, it’s going to require something more than sitting back and waiting. I need to seek him. To actively pursue Him. His desire is to reveal Himself to me… but I must look.

 

At the start of each new year, I like to seek the Lord and let Him lead me to one word that will become a sort of theme for my year. As I prayed and meditated on where I am right now, and what God has for me in 2013, the word that keeps floating to the surface of my mind is “abide.” My greatest desire for the next twelve months is that I would truly abide in Him.

 

“I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in Me and I in him produces much fruit, because you can do nothing without Me.” ~John 15:5

 

Having a goal is all well and good, but as I mentioned above – it’s not enough to hope for it. I want to be intentional about it. At the Spirit’s leading, I’m going to begin with a couple of things.

 

  1. Meditating on His Truth daily – I will continue to meditate on Scripture and journal with the She Reads Truth community (Joshua 1:8).

 

  1. Hiding His Word in my heart – I’m committing to memorizing Romans 1, 8 and 15 over the coming year with The Romans Project, and possibly the book of James as well. As I make His Word part of me, it will become breath and life to me. (Psalm 119:11-15; Ezekiel 37:4-5).

 

  1. Dwelling in thanksgiving – I will count One Thousand Gifts this year. By reflecting on His faithfulness, I will keep my focus on Him. If I truly want to experience His peace, I must learn this discipline (Phil. 4:6-7).

 

How about you? Do you have word for 2013? How is He speaking to your heart? I’d love to share the journey with you – praying for and encouraging one another along the way.

Responses

  1. ‘Abide’–what a worthy and good word. it is something we all should strive for. I like that word!! I have a word, in fact, I have two words. I wrote about them on Monday. http://www.leahadams.org/my-guiding-words-for-2013/

    Love the picture you chose to go with this post!!

  2. My word is “laugh” based on Proverbs 31:25.

  3. My word is ‘qavah’… to rest, wait. Literally, it means to bind together, as in twisting strands together. I want to be bound more and more in God.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

