Posted by: bellissimanh | October 10, 2012

I love You, Daddy.

I lost my phone for a few minutes at the hospital. Couldn’t find it anywhere, so I called it from Jasmine’s phone, and discovered it buried in one of my bags. A little while later, Jasmine’s phone was beeping (missed call or something). In looking through her recent call log, I read one word that made me smile. “Mommy.”

I don’t know that Jas has EVER called me “Mommy”. I’ve heard “Mom”, and the most popular “Mama”… but never “Mommy.”  Yet still… it did my heart good to see it there, registered in her cell. What is it about that moniker that makes it seem so much more personal… precious… lovely?

I asked Jas about it and she said that this is how she thinks of me, and she says that when she was very little she called me “Mommy” and it evolved into “Mama” over the years. Maybe she’s right (she probably is… my memory’s not what it used to be). Either way, I love that when she thinks of me, I’m still her Mommy, even though she’s just 8 months away from adulthood.

As I study and draw closer to the Lord, I realize there are so many facets to Him, and I am overwhelmed by everything that He is. Provider and Protector. Lion and Lamb. Sovereign and Savior. Rescuer and Redeemer. Healer and Helper. Defender and Disciplinarian. Lighter of my way and Lover of my soul. Truth and Teacher. Creator and King.

And He is Father. Not just in the typical “Our Father, who art in heaven…” sense, but in a very real, personal sense. Three times in the New Testament He is referred to as “Abba.” In Hebrew, “Ab” means father… but in Aramaic, “Abba” is a word derived from baby-language – “Daddy.”

“For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, ‘Abba, Father.’” (Romans 8:15)

“Because you are sons, God sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, the Spirit who calls out, ‘Abba, Father.’” (Galatians 4:6)

And it is also a term Jesus used to address His Father in perhaps the most difficult moment of His life:

“‘Abba, Father,’ He said, ‘everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.’” (Mark 14:36)

How amazing that God — the Creator of the Universe –  desires to have this kind of closeness and intimacy with us. Today, I just want to say, “I love You, Daddy!”

Responses

  1. I just love to read your blogs Never really know what to say, they are so touching.

  2. Aaaaaw… thank you! :) Who are you? lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

